Skip to main content

Microbiology Club

Micro Club Website

If you're considering joining, feel free to add yourself to the Micro Club GroupMe!

Laura Millage, President -

The Microbiology Club is a great way to meet other Microbiology students, to learn about careers and opportunities while at ISU and after you graduate. Meetings are usually held twice a month on Thursday evenings from 6:10 – 7:00 in room 277, Science 1. The Iowa State University Microbiology Club offers a one day High School Workshop in the fall that incorporates various lab activities and incorporates a Forensics Murder Mystery using microbiology. During the year there are additional opportunities to meet other Micro students and use your skills in outreach activities. The club also has a fundraiser to assist Micro students attending the national American Society of Microbiologists meeting. In the summer, there is a 2 week AgDiscovery residential program for junior high and high school students sponsored by APHIS where Micro students have the opportunity to help instruct others in beginning Microbiology activities.

  • Due to COVID-19 precautions we will not be having our Science nights at Fellows Elementary, Sawyer Elementary and Kate Mitchell Elementary.

Micro Club Officers:                                                                                            Fall 2023 Schedule:

President:   Laura Millage                                                                                Sept. 7 - Pizza party and info session

Vice President: Alex Bray                                                                                Sept. 21 -Agar Art competition

Treasurer:  Harshita Sharma                                                                           Oct. 5 - Winery Tour-Cancelled

Secretary: Pooja Kasiviswanathan                                                                  Oct. 19 - Murder Mystery

Workshop chairs: Harshita Sharma and Kelsa Heseltine                                Oct. 21 - Dinner at Dr. Cunnick's          

CALS Council: Sean Prell and Savannah Kallaus                                           Nov. 2 - WiSE event

Fundraising Chair: Kennedi Steburg and Savannah Kallaus                           Nov. 9 - HS workshop prep

Advisor: Dr. Joan Cunnick                                                                               Nov. 10- HS workshop (all day event)

                                                                                                                         Nov. 30- 2024 officer election/potluck